This is the "Library Home" page of the "Matoaca Elementary School Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Matoaca Elementary School Library  

Last Updated: Apr 27, 2016 URL: http://libguides.ccpsnet.net/content.php?pid=472991 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Library Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Find a Good Book Here!

To search the library catalog, click on the book stack below:

I wish we had this book in our library....

Is there a book, an author, or an entire book series you'd like to see added to our school library collection?  Click on the link below and share your recommendation with me!

 

Interactive books

 

Ways To Choose a Book

1.  Look at the cover...but don't judge a book by its cover alone.

2.  Read the summary on the book.

3.  Read the first paragraph in the book.

4.  Find a favorite genre or book type.

5.  Read a book series.

6.  Choose a book by a well-known author.

7.  Use the five-finger test.

8.  Ask your friends, teachers, or librarian for suggestions.

 

Mrs. Neace met Harry Potter!!!

"It is our choices, Harry, that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities." ~Albus Dumbledore from Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

 

CCPS Privacy Statement

 

Databases on my.ccpsnet.net

 

We now have our databases right on the my.ccpsnet.net dashboard.  Our students have 24/7 access to online encyclopedias like Britannica, PebbleGo, PowerKnowledge, Kids Infobits, and National Geographic Kids.  Students can find nonfiction articles, pictures, video clips, and safe links without surfing the web.  Our ebook collection, PebbleGo, and Power Knowledge are housed in MackinVia.  

Just click on the my.ccpsnet.net link in the RED "Quick Links" box at the top of the left column!

 

Finding Just the Right Book

 

Remember to pick a good fit book.

  • I choose a book.
  • P urpose - Why do I want to read it?
  • I nterest - Does it interest me?
  • C omprehend - Do I understand what I am reading?
  • K now - I know most of the words.
 

What will you learn in the library?

Here are some of the topics covered in library resource classes throughout the year:

  • how to use the the online catalog
  • online databases
  • author/illustrator studies
  • research skills (including how to use a dictionary, thesaurus, atlas, almanac, and encyclopedia)
  • Internet safety
  • Booktalks (my personal favorite!)

Librarian

Profile Image
Bridget Neace
Contact Info
Matoaca Elementary
6627 River Road
South Chesterfield, VA 23803
(804) 590-3100
Send Email
Subjects:
Library
 

Checkout Info

Library Checkout Policy:

Kindergarten and first grade students check out 1 book.  Students in second* through fifth grades check out up to 2 books depending on the number of books that are returned.  (*Second graders start the year with just 1-book checkout and then build to 2 books.)

 

Library Book Return and Renewal:

Students check out books for one week.  If they need to keep their book(s) for additional time, then they can renew their book(s).

Lost/Damaged Books

Students are responsible for their library books and need to practice proper book care rules.

  • Always handle books with clean hands.
  • Never mark or write in library books.
  • Turn pages slowly and carefully.
  • Keep library books away from food and drink.
  • Keep books clean and dry.
  • Carry books in a book bag or backpack.
  • Keep library books in a special place at home.
  • Return books on time so others can read them.

 

If you have a library book becomes lost or damaged, you will be asked to pay the replacement cost of the book.  Please keep in mind that we order our library books from a company that provides books made for libraries.  These books are built to withstand lots of checkouts by enthusiastic readers; therefore, they cost more than the books that can be purchased at the bookstore or online.  I can accept payments in any increment and I'm willing to work with you to take care of book replacement costs!

I think I lost my library book...

Can't find your library book?  This video will give you some ideas of places to look! 

 

Mission Statement

The mission of the Chesterfield County Public School libraries is to empower students and staff through the direction and guidance of certified school librarians to become critical thinkers, enthusiastic readers, skillful researchers and ethical users/creators of information in support of student achievement in a global environment.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip